Kevin James: Never Don’t Give Up: A Comedy Special Review

I have a soft spot for Kevin James, both his stand up and his movies. It probably has to do with Hitch, the romantic comedy he starred in with Will Smith. It also helps that James is pretty funny when doing his stand up. He has a biting sense of humor, but much of what he talks about is honest, and honesty has a tendency to be brutal. At times he can be a bit too mean for my taste, but whatever.

His new special, Never Don’t Give Up, was released on Netflix on April 24, 2018. It runs almost exactly 60 minutes. Throughout the special, James covers a number of topics from his weight to his love of food to parenting to how annoying people can be. Each is connected one to the next. Some of the topics are funnier than others, and some of his more gross out humor falls flat, moving into the area of just not being funny. I was laughing hysterically when he talked about parenting. I don’t have kids, but I have plenty of friends that have little kids now and my parent’s have told me stories about myself and my brother growing up. James described parenting extraordinarily well.

Overall, Never Don’t Give Up is a fun and funny hour, especially if you need time to kill between other things to do, like I was.

Give it a watch and sound off in the comments.

Leave a comment